Carrying a Concealed Weapon or CCW is the act of carrying a concealed weapon such as a handgun in public. A weapon is usually concealed on the body but can also be in close proximity such as in a handbag. All fifty states have passed their own laws that allow individuals that have met certain conditions to carry concealed firearms in public after obtaining a permit from a designated state or local government authority. A Concealed Firearm Permit is valid for five years and consistently renewed every five years. Whenever the permit holder is carrying their concealed firearm, they must have the permit and proper identification with them and must be able to present it to an officer when requested. If you are unable to do so, you are facing a civil penalty of $25.00.
Requirements for a Concealed Weapons Permit
A permit from the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department to carry a concealed weapon can be applied for fairly easily. To be approved, you must be a resident of Clark County if you are a Nevada resident. If you are an out-of-state resident you must receive your firearms training in Clark County. An approved firearms course in Clark County must be successfully completed (paid for by applicant) and all fees need to be paid. You must also be at least 21 years of age and be able to lawfully possess a firearm.
Some Reasons You May Not Be Eligible to Obtain a CCW Permit
You are not eligible to obtain a permit if you are under 21 years of age or are unable to provide the proper documentation required. You are also not eligible if you are a fugitive from justice, have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving violence, including misdemeanors in the last three years, are currently on parole or probation or have had DIU conviction within the past five years. Other disqualifications include if you have been declared mentally incompetent or have been admitted to a mental health facility in the last three years. You are also not eligible if you are a medical marijuana patient, habitual user of a controlled substance that impairs your normal faculties or liquor.
Nevada Open Carry Laws
Nevada doesn’t have any laws that prohibit carrying a weapon openly and no permit is required to do so. Generally, anyone who is 18 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm, can carry it openly virtually anywhere in the state. Open carry is defined as wearing a handgun that is holstered on the body; usually on the hip or thigh. Minors are generally not permitted to carry firearms openly. Civilians are not permitted to carry weapons in secure areas of airports, such as past TSA checkpoints or in public buildings where metal detectors are present at public entrances or ‘no guns’ signs are posted. It is legal, however to carry inside Las Vegas casinos, on the Las Vegas Strip and the Fremont Street Experience. Most casinos, if they observe you carrying, will ask you to leave or disarm. It only becomes a crime when you refuse to comply.